Journalism scenes from movies on other topics

Kubiske:

Always a joy to see how other journalists look at our profession as represented in the movies. And I never would have thought of Liberty Valance. To me it is just a Western, But it is all “based” on a newspaper interview.

Originally posted on The Buttry Diary:

Dutton Peabody, photo linked from Weary Sloth

Occasionally, when journalists at a party or on social media ask one another our favorite newspaper (or journalism) movies, I will answer, “The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance.”

Of course, no one thinks of “Liberty Valance” as a journalism movie. It’s a Western. But the whole movie is told through an interview between Ransom Stoddard and Charlie Hasbrouck, a reporter for the Shinbone Star. One of the key characters, Dutton Peabody, is editor and publisher of the Shinbone Star.

I thought about “Liberty” as I was writing an accompanying post about journalism scenes in three recently released movies. What I want to do here is share some favorite journalism scenes from non-journalism movies and ask you about some of your favorites.

Journalists all have our favorite journalism movies (or specifically newspaper movies). Off the top of my head…

View original 840 more words

1 Comment

Filed under International News Coverage

One response to “Journalism scenes from movies on other topics

  1. I saw “Philomena” last night, with no idea, I confess, of what I was about to experience. It is a powerful story and the portrayal of the journalist (whatever Coogan said, being fired didn’t make him no longer a journo) made me proud of our craft. I look forward to reading Martin Sixsmith’s book to learn how he actually unraveled the hidden facts.

Leave a Reply

